Please click to see profile.
FREE SHIPPING
on order $25+
Questions? Call Us Toll free
1.866.321.7886
Mon-Fri 9am-5Pm EST

What Are the Stun Gun Laws in Texas?


Photo credit: Bill Ledbetter

When it comes to Texas the word gun is concomitant to the state. In fact, residents would consider the state to be quite liberal when it comes to the purchase and ownership of guns. However, the use of firearms in the name of protecting someone comes with the possibility of fatalities once they have been used. Of course, while this is one route a person may take, what other measures are available for safety in the state of Texas?

Unsurprisingly, it is legal for a person to purchase and own a stun gun for their safety in Texas and there are no restrictions in place stopping someone from doing so, but this may not have been the case if a bill passed in 2005. Compared to other states, there are no restrictions against felons or restrictions against those convicted of assault crimes who want to own a self defense device such as a stun gun.

Additionally, there are no legislative requirements in place regarding the features a stun gun must first have or in how they are sold. Similarly, there are no restrictions when it comes to minors purchasing or owning stun guns.

However, this may have been different eight years ago had a bill successfully passed restricting stun guns.

In 2005, House Bill Number 582 wanted to include stun guns to the list of weapons prohibited in Texas under Section 46.05(a) of the Penal Code. Consequently, this would have made it a criminal offense to manufacture, transport, posses, buy or sell a stun gun; however, as the bill failed the ownership and purchase of stun guns remains legal in Texas.

One thing to bear in mind though is that it is a criminal offense to try to take or take the stunning device from a law enforcement officer with the intention of harming someone. Law enforcement officer includes police officers, parole officers, commissioned security officers and corrections guards. Those convicted of this third-degree felony face a minimum two year imprisonment with a maximum of ten years and a fine amounting up to $10,000.