Update: No Permit Required To Own Stun Guns In Ohio Whether Concealed Or Not
Is it legal to own a stun gun in Ohio? Do you require a firearms permit? In this article, we answer those questions and find out.
In Ohio, while they have relatively liberal laws regarding stun guns the law classifies them as deadly weapons. Even though they are legal in the state, a citizen who wishes to carry the device in public they are first required to have a permit to carry a concealed weapon.
This means that the necessary paperwork has to be filed with the local court in order to obtain the right permits as well as background checks. To obtain an Ohio Concealed Carry Handgun License a citizen must be 21 years of age, have lived in Ohio for at least 45 days and be a resident. They should also have a certificate of competency from an authorized Concealed Carry Class in Ohio, not be disqualified for mental incompetence, own a color passport-sized photo, and pay a non-refundable fee of $55.
Another thing to bear in mind is that a citizen with a felony conviction will not be able to carry a stun gun in public or possess it privately. Once the license has been obtained it can be renewed every six years with continuing education requirements.
There are, of course, restrictions as to where a person can and cannot have a stun gun on them when in public places. In 2006, possessing a stun gun within a school or on school property in Ohio was made illegal and those who break the law face a felony of the fifth degree subject to a maximum of 12 months in prison and a maximum fine of $2,500.