UPDATE: Stun devices are now LEGAL in ENTIRE Pennsylvania
In this article we look to see what the stun gun laws in Pennsylvania are and whether or not a person is legally entitled to own the device for protection.
The ownership of a stun gun in the state of Pennsylvania is permitted, but depending on where you are it is also prohibited.
Under Pennsylvania law 908.1 it allows the possession of a stun gun in any part of the state barring Philadelphia as this is one of the cities that falls under the designated illegal areas. Under Statute 10-825 it is illegal to carry any type of firearm or stun gun into the city of Philadelphia. Anyone who is found violating this law is subject to a $300 fine and the possibility of up to 90 days in jail.
Outside of Philadelphia, though, it seems that the ownership of the stunning device is permitted, but if the self defense device is used for any illegal activity then that is considered a 2nd degree felony. Under law 908.1, it states that an individual can employ a stun gun for their safety and protection when defending themselves or their property.
However, if a person is prohibited from law of carrying a firearm, then that person is automatically prohibited from carrying a stun gun. They may be banned from carrying firearms due to a criminal record, mental defect or other reasons.
In order to legally carry a stun gun in Pennsylvania, excluding Philadelphia, then the person needs to be over the age of 18.
Browse our full collection at Best Stun Gun.