Can You Use Deadly Force to Protect Yourself in Rhode Island?

self defense rhode islandWhen exactly can you protect yourself against harm in Rhode Island? Are residents first required to retreat from harm? We find out the answers to these questions in the following article.

In Rhode Island they have what is known as the Castle Doctrine, which is an American legal doctrine that gives a homeowner, or any legally occupied space such as a workplace or the vehicle, legal protections to defend themselves from deadly harm through the use of deadly force.

A homeowner can employ deadly force with no duty to retreat if they are the owner, tenant or occupier of the place where someone is trying to break in, if they reasonably believe they are in danger of great bodily harm or death.

Other than those situations and if they are outside of their home or not somewhere that is a legally occupied space a person is first required to use non-lethal force to defend themselves and to retreat to a safe area if they can before resorting to deadly force.

Technically, Rhode Island is a state where authorities are required by law to issue carry permits to all qualified applicants. In order to qualify for a permit the applicant must be at least 21 years of age, successfully complete a range test using a firearm that needs to be as big as the gun they intend to carry and they must demonstrate a valid reason why they need to carry a handgun.

Those who cannot show why they need a gun will be denied a permit. This includes those who have been convicted of crimes of violence, those who are not legal residents in the United States, fugitives from justice, those treated or confined due to mental incompetence and those who have been treated for drunkenness or habitual drug use.

Applications cost $40, are valid for four years and are made through the chief of police in the applicant’s town of residence. Permits are then issued by the state attorney general.

If you are traveling through another state with your firearm it is a good idea to know which states honor permits from Rhode Island. The following list should prove useful for those who need it. Rhode Island’s permits are accepted by: Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Vermont.

On the other hand Rhode Island does not honor permits from any other state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *